Review: Don’t Tell a Soul by D.K. Hood


Title
: Don’t Tell a Soul
Author: D.K. Hood
Pages: 344
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Source: Free ARC from Bookouture

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Note: As stated under the Source (above), I received this book for free from Bookouture via NetGalley. I pride myself on writing fair and honest reviews.

Goodreads Summary

The floor was stone cold on her bare skin. Her heart pounded in her chest. ‘Not a soul knows where I am,’ she thought as she took in the darkness around her. And then she heard his footsteps…

When a body is found stuffed into a barrel at a garbage dump, covered in long red lacerations, Detective Jenna Alton and her new deputy, David Kane, rush to the scene.

Nothing ever happens in the small American town of Black Rock Falls, so Jenna believes the victim must be one of two recent missing persons, and she fears for the life of the other.

Both were strangers to the town, but there’s nothing else to link them. Jenna knows someone must have seen something, but no one’s talking; how well does she really know the people around her?

Then a disturbing clue makes Jenna suspect a connection with other disappearances in the town’s history. Just when she begins asking the right questions, she realises she’s being followed. Is she next on the killer’s list?

In a race against time, Jenna and David must unlock the dark secret at the heart of the town, before it’s too late… 

A completely addictive detective thriller that will have you guessing right to the end. Perfect for readers of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Abbott.

Review

Though it has been awhile since I finished this book, I remember it quite well, and that is rather unusual for me (in one door, out the other…unless it’s a superb read, and even then…my brain is like a sieve). 

The mystery was quite good. There was a point, prior to the actual reveal, at which I knew exactly who the perpetrators were, but it was far enough along that I wasn’t bothered about it, and it in no way detracted from the unraveling of the story. The tension was adequate and consistent, and in no way disappointing.

The primary reason(s) for this being a 3 star rating instead of 4 star (or even a 3.5!)? One, the relationship development between Kane and Alton was a bit formulaic and clunky. I could see it coming, but I didn’t feel it, so I didn’t really care. Two, the way Jenna’s character was written was irksome. It felt inauthentic, stereotypical, and a bit sexist, if I’m being honest (and yes, I know the author is a woman). There was a lack of maturity in the development of both characters that just didn’t sit well with me. They were two dimensional.

In the end, the mystery was quite good, and the character and relationship development fell short for me. However, I’d be interested in reading the next in the series to see if those elements get stronger. There is definitely a lot of potential here.

4 Replies to “Review: Don’t Tell a Soul by D.K. Hood”

  1. I loved the series a bit more than you because I am always playing Detective. The only book I didn’t like was where the children were kidnapped and there was graphic descriptions of what was done to them. That gave me nightmares. Overall I have read all the books. Most were fun

  2. I like your review. I don’t think I would care for the book; a good plot without characters you like doesn’t go very far. (And yes, women can be sexist.)

  3. Great and honest review Myndi. It does sound like a good mystery story, but not sure if I would get a chance to read it, especially if you didn’t love it.

Leave a Reply to carhicks Cancel reply